Skip to Content search facebook instagram pinterest twitter youtube

Trainers & Jockeys Premierships

Posted by TRNT

Date posted:

With only one meeting left in Darwin until the end of 2018, the Northern Territory premiership tables in both the Top End and Red Centre make for interesting reading. 

The premierships, of course, run from 1 August-31 July, spanning the racing season, and with almost five months of the 2018-19 season completed, the Top End pacesetters are looking familiar once again.

Gary Clarke, the leading trainer for the past six years, has opened up a seemingly unassailable lead on his rivals. He has some 21 wins on the board from just 95 runners, a winning strike rate of 22.1%, and with 17 seconds and nine third placings, he has certainly kicked off the current season in fine style. 

Jason Manning, who never has more than a dozen horses in work, is sitting second with eight wins, followed by Phil Cole and trainer-jockey Carl Spry with seven. Tayarn Halter, who has been in good form during the month of December, has five wins to her credit, one ahead of Kerry Petrick and Chris Pollard. 

Trainer Name 1st 2nd 3rd Starts
Gary Clarke 21 17 9 97
Jason Manning 8 5 6 46
Carl Spry 7 7 5 54
Phillip Cole 7 12 18 129
Neil Dyer 5 1 2 30
Tayarn Halter 5 6 3 39
Kerry Petrick 4 5 3 48
Chris Pollard 4 4 3 35

In the jockeys’ ranks, Brendon Davis, although currently sidelined with a foot injury, has a five-win buffer on his closest pursuers, his 13 wins, nine seconds and two thirds from 45 rides giving him an excellent winning strike rate of almost 29%.

Chasing him hard are Vanessa Arnott, Wayne Davis and Jarrod Todd with eight wins apiece, while Carl Spry and Kim Gladwin come next with six wins each.

Jockey Name 1st 2nd 3rd Starts
Brendon Davis 13 9 2 49
Vannessa Arnott 8 5 8 54
Wayne Davis 8 2 4 53
Jarrod Todd 8 9 13 78
Michelle Hagley 6 2 3 25
Paul Denton 6 7 5 45
Carl Spry 6 6 3 52
Kim Gladwin 6 8 7 57

In the Red Centre, which will now enjoy a five-week break over the latter part of 2018 and early part of 2019, Greg Connor (12 wins) has a three-win advantage over Lisa Whittle (nine wins), with Leanne Gillett and Will Savage next with seven victories.

Connor’s strike-rate of 23.5% is excellent, his team having had 51 starts and in addition to the wins, they have amassed seven seconds and five thirds as well.

Apprentice Lorelle Crow just holds sway in the riders’ table, having scored nine wins from 55 rides, one ahead of Ray Vigar (8), with Wayne Kerford next with seven.

Overall, Clarke clearly leads the NT premiership (Top End and Red Centre combined) for the trainers with 21 wins, while in the jockeys’ table, Todd has a one-win advantage over Vigar and Brendon Davis.

View similar posts categorised as: Racing News